Glee Gum Blog

Keep up with all the goings-on in the world of Glee.

Vegetarians of the World, UNITE!

Hip Hip Hooray! It´s World Vegetarian Day!

That´s right, my friends. I just heard the news myself. October 1st is World Vegetarian Day. And that is but the beginning of an entire Vegetarian Awareness Month! Lands! Can you believe it?

Turns out World Vegetarian Day was founded by the North American Vegetarian Society (NAVS) way back in 1977. The event was later endorsed by the International Vegetarian Union in 1978. I learned all about it at the website www.worldvegetarianday.org. Check it out!

Vegetarian Awareness Month is meant to encourage people to eat vegetarian meals and to spread the word about the movement through posters, books, promotions, and more. In past years, participants have included schools, co-ops, restaurants, colleges, and health centers. This year, maybe that list will include YOU!

You may not know this, but Glee Gum is actually certified vegetarian by the American Vegetarian Association (AVA). You might ask: isn´t ALL chewing gum vegetarian? Surprisingly, some gums really aren´t! That´s because certain gums contain ingredients such as glycerol monostearate or gelatins which are derived from animal products. Blech!

The AVA certification logo on Glee Gum lets gum-chewers know that Glee is suitable for vegetarians. For more info about the AVA, check out their website here. But vegans, steer clear! Glee Gum is not vegan because it contains beeswax and resinous glaze. Check out the FAQ´s on our site to lean more.

In the meantime, Happy World Vegetarian Day to all!

Posted in Front Page | Leave a Reply

Archives